Dangerous goods shipping process

Dangerous goods shipping process

#Logistics #DangerousGoods


Before getting into the topic, let's popularize a little knowledge. In the actual cargo transportation, in addition to our most common general cargo transportation, there are also special cargo transportation.

Special cargo transportation, as the name suggests, refers to the transportation of unconventional cargo by special vehicles. The types of transportation include: dangerous goods transportation, three oversized cargo transportation (in terms of volume, it refers to ordinary oversized cargo with super high, super wide, super long, and irregular volume; in terms of weight: mainly refers to the logistics of overweight cargo.), refrigerated transportation , Transportation of special confidential items and transportation of special cabinets, etc.

Among them, dangerous goods transportation is a special kind of transportation, and it is a form of transportation that we need to know more about today.

There are many types of dangerous goods, which can be divided into nine categories.


The first category:


Refers to items that can undergo violent chemical reactions under external forces, generate a large amount of gas and heat instantly, cause the surrounding pressure to rise sharply, cause an explosion, and cause damage to the property safety of surrounding personnel. Such as fireworks and firecrackers.


The second largest category:


Refers to compressed, liquefied or pressurized dissolved gases. When such items are subjected to external uncontrollable forces, the pressure in the container increases sharply, causing the container to burst, material leakage, and explosive compressed liquefied gas. such as natural gas.


The third category:

Flammable liquids.

It is volatile at room temperature, and its vapor can form explosive mixture when mixed with air. Such as gasoline, ethanol, etc.


The fourth category:

Flammable solids, self-igniting items and items flammable when wet.

Such items are prone to fire. Such as sulfur, camphor and so on.


The fifth category:

Oxidizing agent.

Such items are highly oxidizing and can easily cause combustion and explosion. Such as magnesium peroxide, nitrate and so on.


The sixth category:

Toxic substances.

Refers to articles that, after entering the biological body, accumulate to a certain amount and can have biochemical or biophysical interactions with body fluids and tissues, endangering the safety of life. Such as gas, sulfur dioxide, etc.


The seventh category:

Radioactive material.

It is an item that contains radionuclides, and the total radioactive content in the item is higher than the national regulation value. Items with radioactive elements such as nuclear uranium.


The eighth category:

Corrosive substances.

Refers to solids or liquids that can burn animal tissues and cause damage to metal and other objects. Such as sulfuric acid, hydrochloric acid, etc.


Ninth category:

Other dangerous goods.

Refers to substances and articles that present a hazard but do not meet the definitions of other classes. For example battery pack etc.


The sea transportation process of dangerous goods is basically divided into four steps:


1. Booking

Basic information should be provided when booking dangerous goods, such as UN NO. Dangerous goods grade, packing category, MSDS, etc.

The shipping company will only accept the booking according to other relevant documents that need to be presented according to the name of the cargo.

For example, dangerous goods with UN number UN2880 also need to show a survey report; UN number UN1057, dangerous goods classified as Class 2.1 goods also need to show a gas inspection certificate (Gas Free Certificate). Some special dangerous goods also need to submit a technical explanation (Technical explanatory) or a non-hazardous certificate (MSDS Material safety data sheet).

2. Maritime declaration

According to the International Dangerous Goods Transportation Regulations, all dangerous goods must be declared to the Maritime Safety Administration when entering or leaving the country, which is an indispensable link in the international transportation process of dangerous goods. Maritime declaration needs to provide the original dangerous package certificate, the original cargo packaging technical specification, the box number, seal number (only after picking up the box), and the dangerous goods declaration form four days before the ship sails.


3. Customs declaration

The customs declaration process is required for all trade goods when they enter and exit the country. This is a link that everyone is familiar with, but it is also a link that is relatively prone to problems. Many goods cannot be shipped in time, and eventually the goods are declared by the customs. It is caused by inspection, so before the goods are shipped, you must confirm whether the product name and HS code used for customs declaration are related to customs supervision issues and whether they are related to certificates. Don’t go back on regrets if something goes wrong. The cost is very high. of. Customs declaration is generally about 2 days before the departure of the ship. Pay attention to remind your freight forwarder not to exceed the internal customs cut-off time of the shipping company. Provide customs declaration, packing list, invoice and declaration elements.

4. Packing into port

It needs to be emphasized here that there are great dangers and hidden dangers in the transportation of dangerous goods, so it is not possible to arrange trailer packing according to the transportation standard of general cargo, and it is necessary to arrange a special dangerous goods packing team to pack into the port.

Leave a comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.